Institute of Biotechnology

About us

Contact information

Institute of Biotechnology
P.O.Box 56
(Visiting address: Viikinkaari 5d)
00014 University of Helsinki

Tel +358 2941 59921
Fax +358 2941 59366

University of Helsinki Business
Identity Code: FI-03134717

Director and administration
Telephone and email directory

How to find us
Transportation and map of Helsinki

flamma virtual desktop


Biocenter Finland logo


The Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of the Institute assesses the activities of each
research group regularly at four-year intervals. The SAB conducts also an assessment of candidate group leaders.

The Scientific Advisory Board of the Institute 2015-2018

Joint Associate Director and Senior Scientist Ewan Birney
Hinxton, Cambridge, United Kingdom


Professor Joan A. Steitz,
Department of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry ,
Howard Hughes Medical Institute , Yale University,
New Haven, USA

Professor Miltos Tsiantis, Director,
Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research,
Department of Comparative Development and Genetics
Köln, Germany

Research Professor Marja Jäättelä,
Institute of Cancer Biology at the Danish Cancer Society,
Copenhagen, Denmark

Professor Anne Spang,
Biozentrum, University of Basel

Professor Urban Lendahl,
Department of Cwll and Molecular Biology,
Karolinska Institutet
Stockholm, Sweden

Professor Olivier Pourquie,
Department of Genetics & Pathology
Harvard Medical School
Boston, USA

Professor John E. Walker
MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit
Wellcome Trust / MRC Building
Cambridge, United Kingdom

Professor Annalisa Pastore,
King's College
London, United Kingdom